1,000 Words on Writing


The Website of Matt Osgood

On Saturday night, my laptop crashed. Even in my days of not caring so much about what happened to my computer, this had never happened to me. It happened during a seemingly innocuous sending of a picture to my sister-in-law, a photograph of her and her sisters, including my wife. It is a particularly nice picture that I thought she might enjoy as a background photograph on her own computer, maybe to print out and frame, or maybe to delete without even opening. Whatever.

It’s tough to remain calm when a computer crashes, especially as a writer because, well, it would have been catastrophic for me. On the hypothetical list of “writer’s who are good at backing up important documents,” I’m at the bottom. All of my files – published, unpublished, finished, unfinished – 100’s of thousands of words were somewhere in the abyss. We got about a foot of…

View original post 882 more words

Leave a Reply

