Chile versus Korea: The TEFL Showdown (by Coleen Monroe)


Profesorbaker's Worldwide English Blog

Chile versus Korea: The TEFL Showdown

Source: Reverse Retrograde Blog
Author: Coleen Monroe
Twitter: @ColeenMonroe

Unfortunately, this is what happens when I give my students a creative task. It’s a blood zombie.

An hour before the flight, I asked a South Korean how to open the triangle kimbap I had just purchased. In Spanish. My last act in the Región de Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena, where I’d lived for six months teaching English in a public school, was to eat a Korean staple food. I didn’t know it as we drove a red pickup truck along the Strait of Magellan to the airport, but that kimbap had sealed my fate.
Coleen Monroe - Ganges Necklace

At this point in my life, I’ve taught English in three different ways and on three different continents. The experience of being a volunteer English tutor for a Saudi Arabian student in my final year of university was…

View original post 1,297 more words

Leave a Reply

