Thoughts On Re-Educating Our Children.


BlackLit101

re-education

For the last few weeks my articles have focused on the mis-education of our children so today, I’m going to postulate my antithesis.
I want to talk about my platform of re-education and the benefits that I believe will help re-define our social conditioning, strengthen our communities and broaden our cultural perception as Black Canadians.
When I talk about re-education, I’m speaking in terms of the following.

1) Academically:
Through exposure to Black literature and the teachings of Black professionals, scholars , authors, experts, social commentary etc., we can better guide our children along the pathways for learning with examples of scholarship from those who came blazing the trail before them. We can then introduce a multitude of career options that may not be offered or advertised within the traditional education model. For example, agricultural science; we elders ought to educate and encourage our children about land ownership, commercial farming…

View original post 501 more words

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for re-blogging this! I am an ESL teacher in Brampton, ON broadening her horizons and am working to be effective within the Black community in terms of alternative education. I appreciate you spreading my words 🙂 Great blog BTW! Very useful, informative and inspiring to us teachers!
    ~Rachelle

Leave a Reply

