Teaching English to Koreans Online


WordWeaver

My first close encounter with a Korean was 38 years ago when I chose a Korean boy for a pen pal in a girl scouting activity in high school.  I could have picked another nationality to foster some international friendship thing as part of our extra curriculum in those days, but I chose him randomly and not because of  kimchi. K-Pop and Koreanovelas were also unheard of then. Psy was relevant only as a phoneme in a social science subject while Gwiyomi was too far out and alien yet. i-photodb-com-sandara-park-22

In like manner, I did not know an iota about  American-Filipino-Korean ties during the Korean War that would have somehow probably affected my thinking to select from a list of unknowns my first international pen friend. Koreans were not hot as Americans (who were predominantly my generation’s foremost influences) had been in the international scene. But so much had…

View original post 1,017 more words

Leave a Reply

