Figuring out phrasal verbs


English Language Teaching & Training

I received this question from Hanne G. as she studies for her English 4 final exam:

Am I right to say that a phrasal verb can be followed either by an adverb or a preposition (or both) and that a prepositional verb is followed by a preposition? Because I don’t really see the difference… and on some websites I’ve read that a phrasal verb can only be followed by an adverb and not by a preposition, so I’m a bit confused.

I was jumping at the chance to use my new blog to deal with student questions – thanks, Hanne!

I agree, phrasal verbs – especially the metalanguage – can be confusing! Often, they disagree with many students, making them sick to their stomach. So, Hanne, don’t despair – let me see if I help you break phrasal verbs down! I’ve looked some of my reference books over and…

View original post 688 more words

Leave a Reply

